Awards & Recognition Programs

You've already earned it. Apply to the industry's most prestigious awards programs and get the recognition you deserve.

AGC's awards programs recognize the nation's most pioneering projects as well as talented and community-minded contractors, innovative and successful AGC chapters, student chapter achievement, and contractors implementing outstanding safety programs.  

AGC Awards Programs

AGC Awards Applications Open Now

Bowen Prize for Great Builders

New in 2024, the Bowen Prize for Great Builders, managed by the AGC Education and Research Foundation, is dedicated to identifying, recognizing, and rewarding the construction industry's most influential builders. Candidates are those individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary leadership, fortitude, skill, and stewardship in an on-the-job capacity to ensure project goals were achieved in constructing America's most essential infrastructure. The Bowen Prize seeks to recognize those builders who are most responsible for extraordinary contributions to the built environment. Learn more.


The Baldwin Group Build America Awards

The Build America awards honor AGC members who build the nation's most impressive construction projects ranging across the building, highway and transportation, utility infrastructure, and federal and heavy divisions. Learn more.


AGC in the Community, Sponsored by United Rentals

AGC in the Community is an initiative of AGC Charities Inc., designed to showcase the community service projects of AGC of America’s chapters and members. The awards recognize chapter and member service projects that epitomize the essence of charitable giving, through actual hands-on service and donations to charitable organizations. Learn more.


Diversity & Inclusion Excellence Awards, Sponsored by WTW

The AGC Diversity & Inclusion Excellence Awards seek to raise awareness of the value a diverse workforce and inclusive environment brings to a company by bringing attention to diversity and inclusion champions within AGC. By recognizing these diversity and inclusion champions, AGC hopes to inspire other AGC member-companies to engage in activities that will promote diversity and inclusion both within the Association and the industry. Learn more.


Diverse Business of the Year Awards, Sponsored by WTW

The AGC Diverse Business of the Year Award honors an outstanding diverse AGC member-firm that is committed to achieving business success, while also contributing to the association and communities in which they work. The Diverse Business of the Year award winner will be able to demonstrate strong vision and leadership in overcoming obstacles that lead to business results; a reputation for professionalism and integrity in work standards and performance; and a commitment to service in their community. Learn more.


AGC Construction Innovation Awards, Sponsored by Autodesk

In 2018, AGC of America celebrated 100 years of serving the construction industry. In order to recognize this milestone AGC introduced the Innovation Award to provide a platform to encourage free thinkers within the construction industry to provide inventive solutions to the construction challenges that are faced daily. Learn more.


Marvin M. Black Partnering Excellence Awards, Sponsored by the Baldwin Group  

The Marvin M. Black Partnering Excellence Award (represented by a category within the Build America Awards) will be presented annually to construction project(s) that epitomize the principles of partnering. Learn more.


AGC Foundation Awards

The AGC Education and Research Foundation gives two prestigious awards annually, one to an educator who exemplifies excellence in the field of construction education, and the other to a senior-level student who submits the winning essay in the James L. Allhands Essay Competition. Learn more.



Applications Opening Later This Year

Construction Safety Excellence Awards, Sponsored by WTW & STARR

The purpose of the Construction Safety Excellence Awards (CSEA) is to recognize those construction companies who excel at safety performance. The CSEA closely examines each candidate's commitment to safety and occupational health management and risk control. Learn more.


National AGC Safety Awards 

The National AGC Safety Awards (NASA) compares an AGC member’s safety record with other AGC members according to the member size and construction type.  The NASA provides a great opportunity for members who have excellent safety records to compete for nationally recognized awards. Learn more.


Milwaukee Tool Construction Safety Professional of the Year & Construction Safety Champion of the Year Awards 

These awards are presented to safety and health professionals and front-line supervisors/field personnel who have led their company to achieving an exceptionally high degree of safety excellence. Learn more.


AGC Chapter Awards

AGC recognizes Chapters which have developed outstanding programming, successful public relations campaigns, strong membership growth initiatives, and impactful diversity and inclusion programs through several awards (only accessible to chapter staff and executives). Learn more.


Outstanding Student Chapter Contest

The AGC Outstanding Student Chapter Award is given to those Student Chapters that undertake projects benefitting the local community - whether it’s the school campus, a community organization or a private person – with significant impacts. Learn more.