Industry Priorities

Crane & Derricks in Construction

On July 28, 2010, the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) issued a final rule regulating Cranes and Derricks in Construction. The rule addresses the four primary causes of death and injury to construction workers as well as other hazards associated with crane use including requirements for ground conditions, assembly and disassembly of cranes, inspection of equipment, working around power lines. Additionally, the rule covers the training and certification/qualification of crane operators, the use of qualified riggers, and signal person qualification.

All provisions of the rule became effective on November 14, 2010, with the exception of the operator certification and qualification requirements. This provision was finalized on November 9, 2018 and operator certification became effective on December 10, 2018. Employers are now required to evaluate the competency of their crane operators. A summary of the requirements can be found under the AGC of America Resources section below. AGC also created a form to assist with crane operator qualification and evaluation documentation. 

Crane Operator Certification Programs

One option for certifying crane operators is through an accredited third-party testing organization that administers written and practical tests of the operator. These organizations are considered to be accredited if they have met all requirements detailed in section §1926.1427(d). Crane operator certifications can be by: (1) Type; or (2) Type and Capacity. Crane operators must have been certified by December 10, 2018The list below provides the names of three organizations currently recognized by OSHA to offer crane certifications. Clicking on the name of each organization listed will direct you to their website.

AGC of America Resources

Additional Information and Resources

For comments, questions or more information, please contact – Kevin Cannon.

This page was last updated on March 28, 2023.