Congress of the United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

May 11, 2020

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Minority Leader U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Speaker Pelosi and Leader McCarthy,

We are writing in support of the calls for a \$49.95 billion infusion of federal funding to state departments of Transportation (DOTs) in the next COVID-19 response legislation. Our transportation system is essential to America's economic recovery, but it is facing an immediate need as the COVID-19 pandemic significantly impacts states' transportation revenues. With negotiations for the next COVID-19 relief package underway, we write to convey our strong support that future legislation includes a provision to address the needs of highway and bridge projects.

With millions of Americans following "stay-at-home" orders, many state governments are facing losses in revenues across the board. These State DOTs are not exempt from these losses but operate with unique funding circumstances by having their own revenue shortfalls. Projections are showing decreases in state motor fuel tax and toll receipts as vehicle traffic declines by 50 percent in most parts of the country due to work and travel restrictions. An estimated 30 percent average decline in state DOTs' revenue is forecasted over the next 18 months. Some state DOTs could experience losses as high as 45 percent. Due to these grim realities, some states are unable to make contract commitments for basic operations such as salt and sand purchases for winter operations. Both short-term and long-term transportation projects that were previously set to move forward are being delayed, putting construction jobs at risk.

Providing state DOTs with an immediate relief with immediate infusion of \$49.95 billion in federal funding separate from any additional State and Local relief, is not unlike action taken in prior COVID-19 response bills, which provided federal funding for other transportation modes facing reductions in revenue due to decreased travel. Supporting state DOTs now will enable the advancement of planned transportation projects in the near-term and allow state DOT employees and transportation construction workers essential to planning and delivering these projects to remain on the job. Thank you for your consideration of this request, and leadership in crafting legislation to combat COVID-19.

Sincerely,

1 Sill

Bob Gibbs Member of Congress

Jun Lamb

Conor Lamb Member of Congress

Robert B. Aderholt Member of Congress

Brian Babin, D.D.S. Member of Congress

Troy Balderson Member of Congress

Joyce Beatty Member of Congress

Mike Bost Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Anthony G. Brown Member of Congress

Cheri Bustos Member of Congress

Bradely Byrne Member of Congress

Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress Cindy Axne Member of Congress

Don Bacon Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Jaime Herrera Beutler Member of Congress

Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Susan W. Brooks Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

G. K. Butterfield Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Earl L. "Buddy" Carter Member of Congress Matt Cartwright Member of Congress

David N. Cicilline Member of Congress

Tom Cole Member of Congress

Jim Cooper Member of Congress

Angie Craig Member of Congress

Jason Crow Member of Congress

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Mike Doyle Member of Congress

Rosa L. DeLauro Member of Congress

Dwight Evans Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress Ed Case Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II Member of Congress

Paul Cook Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

Rick Crawford Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

Val Demmings Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell Member of Congress

Abby Finkenauer Member of Congress

Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress Bill Foster Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Denny Heck Member of Congress

Anthony Gonzalez Member of Congress

Paul A. Gosar, D.D.S. Member of Congress

Al Green Member of Congress

Denny Heck Member of Congress

Brian Higgins Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Dusty Johnson Member of Congress

David P. Joyce Member of Congress Lois Frankel Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Jim Himes Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez Member of Congress

Tom Graves Member of Congress

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

Jim Himes Member of Congress

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

Bill Johnson Member of Congress

Eddie Bernice Johnson Member of Congress

John Katko Member of Congress Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

Ron Kind Member of Congress

Ann Kirkpatrick Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress

Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress

Dave Loebsack Member of Congress

Alan Lowenthal Member of Congress

Sean Patrick Maloney Member of Congress

Cathy McMorris Rodgers Member of Congress Joseph P. Kennedy, III Member of Congress

Peter T. King Member of Congress

Derek Kilmer Member of Congress

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

Rick Larsen Member of Congress

Brenda L. Lawrence Member of Congress

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

David B. McKinley, P.E. Member of Congress

Dan Meuser Member of Congress Gwen Moore Member of Congress

Joe Neguse Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Chris Pappas Member of Congress

Bill Pascrell, Jr. Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

David Rouzer Member of Congress

C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger Member of Congress

Tim Ryan Member of Congress

John P. Sarbanes Member of Congress Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress

Dan Newhouse Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar Member of Congress

Jimmy Panetta Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress

Mark Pocan Member of Congress

Kathleen M. Rice Member of Congress

Lucille Roybal-Allard Member of Congress

John H. Rutherford Member of Congress

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress David Schweikert Member of Congress

Mike Simpson Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Greg Stanton Member of Congress

Steve Stivers Member of Congress

Dina Titus Member of Congress

David Trone Member of Congress

Steve Watkins Member of Congress

Susan Wild Member of Congress

John Yarmuth Member of Congress Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

Albio Sires Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

Jackie Speier Member of Congress

Pete Stauber Member of Congress

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

Juan Vargas Member of Congress

Peter Welch Member of Congress

Rob Woodall Member of Congress

Don Young Member of Congress André Carson Member of Congress

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Mike Rogers Member of Congress Jim Costa Member of Congress

Mikie Sherrill Member of Congress